Marriage

Marriage Matters: The Little Things

“Marriage Matters is a series I’ve been writing for the bridal shop I work for, Meant to Be Boutique. Below is a preview of my latest post in the series along with a link to read the full post on their blog.

In my last “Marriage Matters” post, I talked about how important it was to me to prepare my heart during our engagement. If you missed that post, you can catch up here. I knew marriage was a huge undertaking. What I didn’t know as a fiancé that I know as a wife is that marriage doesn’t always feel huge. Most days feel very mundane. It’s true that marriage is one of the most challenging and rewarding relationships in this world…but that’s true over a lifetime. The heart of your spouse is loved and nurtured primarily in the day-to-day grind. Below are some of the do’s and don’ts of a thriving marriage. The secret? It’s all in the little things.

1. Do the not-fun stuff: One of the most impactful ways you can love your spouse is by doing things that help them, even when they’re not the most fun things. I don’t always feel like making the bed or cleaning the house, but Andrew appreciates a clean house and it makes him feel less stressed. The effort it requires of me is a small price to pay. Andrew definitely did not want to give our cat a bath (he doesn’t even like cats) after the cat had an…ahem, accident last week, but he did it because I was struggling. Buckling down and doing things you don’t feel like doing is part of becoming an adult, and it’s an everyday way you can serve your spouse.

To read the rest of this post, visit the Meant to Be Blog at the link below:

http://www.meanttobeboutique.com/blog/2017/5/3/marriage-matters-the-little-things

Leave a Reply

