Spiritual · Wedding

Marriage Matters: Preparing Your Heart

Hi there! Those of you who keep up with my personal blog may have noticed me posting some things on my social media for my work blog. I thought I would post those blogs here as well for those who are interested in where else I’m writing.

If you’re in need of a catch up session on my life, I’m living in Lexington, KY while my husband is in dental school. I’m the assistant manager at the cutest bridal boutique called Meant to Be and I feel like the heroine in a rom-com every day. The owners of the boutique have given me the opportunity to write for the store’s blog. Below is the first post I wrote for them.

About three years ago, I was sitting at my reception desk when the cutest patient walked in. He was tall, had a sweet smile, and the cut off shirts he was wearing after coming from the gym were not lost on me. I started dressing a lot cuter on Mondays when his appointments were scheduled, and at the end of the summer it finally paid off. Andrew asked me out on a date. The rest, as they say, is history. We got married on July 9th, 2016. Our wedding day was worshipful, joyous, and perfect for us. However, as much planning as I did for the wedding, I also wanted to do some planning for marriage.

I knew marriage would be the biggest challenge I had ever taken on, and I wanted to be intentional about seeking wisdom. In the month leading up to my wedding, I decided to read passages of Scripture that would speak to those places in my heart that needed cultivating in order to be a Godly wife. Whether you are a person of faith or not, the principles given in Scripture offer guidelines on mutual trust and respect, healthy conflict resolution, and the vital roles of men and women. What marriage can’t benefit from improvement in those areas? You can approach heart preparation in whatever way works for you. I personally compiled a list of 30 different verses and passages so that I had something to read each day. Here were my biggest takeaways:

To read the rest of this post, visit the Meant to Be blog: http://www.meanttobeboutique.com/blog/2017/3/29/marriage-matters-preparing-your-heart

Leave a Reply

